People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages advantages .

In recent times, people are likely to start having children when they are more mature. There may be some advantages like adequate planning for the welfare of the offspring and mental maturity of the couple but the complications of giving birth at old age like the possibility of having abnormal kids or problems of menopause outweigh the advantages. To begin with, having financial stability and psychological maturity to plan for the welfare of the offspring cannot be over-emphasized. Moreover, Having plans to have children whose future is secured financially and raised by emotionally stable parents is paramount. For instance, a couple got married in their early thirties and opted for family planning to delay conception until after they have achieved their goals of owning a house, having two cars and a joint account where money was deposited monthly for the two kids they planned to give birth to. According to them, it was after meeting the target of amounts of money for the ward’s education and welfare that the woman came to the clinic where I was working to remove the family planning implant and she got pregnant after a few months at the age of forty. Although, she started late she was well prepared before starting a family because she travelled to Germany with her husband to deliver her baby. However, becoming a parent early gives room for the individual to have time to bond with the babies. For example, a mother at aged twenty-three will have enough time to stay with her child which allows for bonding. Also, she is physically strong to support him or her. In addition, the couple have the opportunity to space their kids unlike when husband and wife start late and are now rushing to have the number of offspring planned for, for the fear of menopause which can set in unannounced. In conclusion, although, having offspring later in life allows for proper planning for the future of the wards, however, the risk of abnormalities in children born by parents who are advanced in age and the possibility of menopause before one can conceive is a major disadvantage over early procreation.