Many people aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

There are people who try to make their life better by improving their economic status. However, others argue that by focusing on the economic aspect of life some other important values will be neglected. I believe that the benefits of improving the financial aspect of life are less important than other social virtues. some people assert that making more money provides many benefits for an individual's life. To begin with, increasing the family's income will result in a better life standard and more happiness. In contrast, if a family do not earn a decent salary, the consequences would be more anxiety and misconduct among family members. This means earning enough money to preserve other social values. Take prosperous nations in which families earn sufficient money as an example; the rate of crimes is far less compared to poor nations. Moreover, earning more money helps parents to spend more time with their children, so parents have enough time to teach children important lessons. Nevertheless, others think that when most people's brains are occupied with monetary affairs, they do not have adequate time to think about ethical subjects. In other words, by trying hard to accumulate wealth, individuals undermine other vital values. For instance, those who spent several years on Wall Street do not regard lying as a disgusting vice. They think it is simply a method in the market not to tell the truth. Furthermore, in some wealthy families, there are children who are antisocial. They do not respect social norms because they have not been taught to do so. For example, they do not consider social inequality as an important issue, and they are reluctant to help the poor. While these people are rich, they are not respectful members of society. In conclusion, whereas improving the economic situation plays a crucial role in making life standards better, focusing solely on it may cause the neglection of other important social factors of life, so I believe that the disadvantages of focusing on increasing wealth by no means outweigh the drawbacks.