Study shows that many criminals have low levels of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so that they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

According to research, criminals who commit serious crimes have not properly received formal education. To prevent repeated crimes, some people argue that these offenders should be disciplined with certain practical skills to be employed after being discharged while in jail. However, I am the opposite of this viewpoint since lack of education is not a singular factor in committing crimes. To begin with, there are various elements to trigger crimes apart from levels of education. In other words, we should not underestimate that the vast majority of violators of economic laws who commit petty crimes to major crimes are academically well-educated. I firmly assume that only an educational attempt to solve the issue does not make any sense thus, these prisoners must be transformed their wrong set of values and thoughts via proper programmes for rehabilitation in prisons. For example, many reforming experts’ active involvement should be implemented as a guide to the right path and introduced some social welfare counselling services for stimulating their biased mindset. Of course, these coordinated programmes should be monitored constantly under the warders’ close supervision. On the other hand, the rapid soaring of repeated crime rates can be prevented by vocational training courses in jails. Enduring a quite amount of imprisonment period makes criminals feel isolated from society and their blame for the major motive for crimes is a difficulty with being integrated as a member of society. This is because our prejudice against them that is based on their inability of performing even ordinary occupations. Accordingly, well-organised educational sessions are unavoidable truths for reforming criminals free from economic dependence to survive. Furthermore, these practical pieces of training play a crucial role in certain career fields called ‘3Ds’which stands for dirt, dangerous, and demeaning occupations. Such jobs have great hesitance for most people, but they can directly attract formal prisoners because they have already been removed from old stereotypes in jobs by appropriate education from jails. In conclusion, although prisons’ educational reform programmes are beneficial to reduce criminal rates somehow, some definite moral formation training should be enforced on criminals so that they can be well harmonised into our society without committing any deliberate offences.