Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skill and imagination than reading. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, child development programs have been commercialised globally. Active learning plays a more vital role in the overall growth of children than reading. In my opinion, I have only a partial agreement with the aforementioned statement. Although practical-based studies will improve the critical thinking as well as the creativity of an offspring, theoretical learning is essential for the betterment of a kid. My subsequent crumb of writing will elucidate my viewpoints with relevant examples. Firstly, reading is an essential part of childhood learning. Primarily, children attain cultural and moral values through reading. To be good citizens, children must practice these values from childhood onwards while they communicate with their friends and surroundings. Being good readers, kids will improve their memory power which plays a vital role in their studies that can be applied to their active learning qualities as well. For instance, psychological studies show that kids with good reading power show very good memory in the future. Hence educational system must pay attention to developing the reading skills of the pupil. On the other hand, an activities-based learning system is an inevitable part of education. Learning through role plays and games is a visualisation of the topic, which will stick in the kid's brain more than any other methodology. Additionally, as kids keep on engaging in play, this mode of transferring knowledge will be more interesting to them rather than just sitting and concentrating on only one thing. Apart from all these, the group activities will help them to improve their self-confidence and leadership qualities which will improve their creativity. For example, childcare facilities follow activity-based learning, which generates self-confident offspring to enter into challenging school life. To conclude, reading skills are equally important as active learning techniques that must be promoted throughout the educational life of a kid to develop a better generation.