Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some people argue that religion should be established as one of the courses in schools, many take the view that it is inappropriate. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, religion differentiates what is good or bad in society and it would be easier to teach it during childhood so that children will grow up with proper morality. Due to the strict guidelines of religion, the chances of committing wrongdoings in children are reduced thus they will undoubtedly become valuable members of society. For example, researchers found that youngsters raised by religious families are more successful than those of free-thinker families. Furthermore, religion helps an individual’s sense of security and belief system; teaching them in school provides moral support to those who are in need of faith. On the other hand, freedom of religion is a basic human right and nobody should be forced to learn about the belief system. To elaborate, the setting of one national religion and teaching is unethical and a violation of rights for minority groups. In addition, we should value coexistence and respect others’ cultural heritage regardless of their background. Moreover, some religious beliefs are too extreme in ideology thus leading to propaganda which is not suitable for children to learn at school. Nevertheless, rather than giving lectures on one religion, schools should teach basic etiquette such as morality, sympathy, empathy, the benefits of helping others and proper manners so that our future generation will grow up as responsible adults. In conclusion, although both arguments have their own merits, I believe that religion is a sensitive topic and children should learn it with the arrangements by parents instead of teaching it as a subject at school. Given this situation, it is recommended that children should go to their respective religious schools to learn the religion.