Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

There is no doubt that media vehicles have influenced many people to believe that women must be young and thin to have the ideal image or look. In this essay, I will discuss the issues that might arise from this and propose some ways to mitigate them. This controversial idea of the perfect body created by the media has resulted in serious diseases, which is a massive problem for young girls. In order to achieve what is considered ideal, these people have been following extremely unhealthy habits with food restrictions. As a result, this trend has caused many diseases, such as depression and anorexia. Considering that the most affected are teenagers, the consequences can last for the rest of their life, even after a successful recovery period. Therefore, the worst problems caused by this matter are undoubtedly the potential diseases and their lasting consequences. On the other hand, some measures can be taken to diminish these unhealthy habits. Firstly, schools and universities must warn their students about the side effects of uncontrolled diets, especially those excessively restricted in nutrients. For instance, nutrition, wellness and sport orientation classes, which could be highly helpful to prevent such matters, must be included in students’ schedules. Secondly, families should also observe their kids, and therapy is recommended when suspicious behaviours are identified. Thus, in my opinion, if young generations are fully aware of these problems, they will avoid following unhealthy diets. To conclude, the media has promoted an ideal image that women should follow, which can potentially result in many diseases. This terrible trend can be combated with information and family care.