Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many novel medicinal and product safety experiments have been carried out by using animals as subjects. While I strongly uphold the same idea as advocates who believe these practices should be prohibited owning to their contradiction with our moral principles, they are perceived by many as a sacrifice for the greater good. On the one hand, a considerable portion of the public believes that these experiments are essential for the countless lives of people that can be saved. A drug obtained through these procedures, for instance, will be safe for human use and greatly help the lives of many. Although this view is understandable, it has major flaws, such as the need for consideration that there are many humans deemed by the public to be more deserving to have those tested. Conversely, a great number of people including me stand against it and believe such practices should be banned on account of the fact that animals also have feelings as humans and should be treated as such. In the past, it’s been proven by numerous scientific investigations that animals have the capacity to feel a variety of emotions. Therefore, empathy towards animals has greatly increased, leading to many people standing up against the big pharmacy companies, and deterring them from carrying out any more of those practices that are considered by society as animal cruelty. Overall, I believe that being cruel towards animals with the justification of it being beneficial to humanity is completely unacceptable due to the fact that they are also sentinel beings like us and should be given the same rights.