Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current world, with the advent of the internet and modern technology, a lot of social networking and media websites have been emerging on the internet, and some people believe that such social platforms have negative effects on both individuals and society. I completely agree with this perception, and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view. The main reason for believing this is that some online culprits create fake social connection websites, and attract women to join in, especially younger girls. They persuade the girls with some impressive faked photos. This has led to online money cheating and, in some cases, online harassment. For example, in Singapore, the police received around 100 reports from those girls who had been bullied by online players, yearly. A further reason is that using chat sites is a kind of disease, and many people are addicted to using them. As a result, their daily work will be unproductive, causing social isolation. In the USA, a study found that most children are using social networking websites, and they are less concentrated on their school work. Finally, some online websites can spread misinformation or fake news about society such as rumours between organisations and social clubs. This can lead to societal divisiveness in the community. In Singapore, there are particular networking sites for each social organisation, and the government safeguards those specific sites. In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that social networking sites may cause detrimental effects on everybody who is using them because people’s daily productivity will be dropped, and they can distribute wrong information which can lead to social divisiveness, and resulting online harassment. Given this situation, people should avoid using social chatting platforms, which could harm them.