To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era and age, the population is still growing sharply, creating important issues to satisfy all the food demand. One of the possible alternatives is to introduce new types of nutrients such as bugs, caterpillars and locusts. This essay analyses the benefits of introducing insects as an aliment in our society such as reduction of costs and pollution, but also drawbacks such as the sensibility of people and the obstacle of culture. First of all, adding insects in our diets can be extremely eco-friendly and sustainable for our environment because it can lead to a reduction of problems for our ecosystem. Indeed, droughts, due to redirection of rivers for farming, contamination of soil, due to the usage of chemicals materials for crops, and the thinness of ozone layer, due to cows farming, are all effects of intensive farms. These damaging effects could be reduced by the introduction of insect farms, which studies have proven their bigger sustainability rather than the traditional ones. Moreover, another benefit could be the decrease of costs in food production that automatically brings a reduction of the final product on the market. For instance, researchers have revealed that, for farming insects, the average amount of money needed is fewer than the normal one due to lower maintenance and structural costs. On the other hand, there are several obstacles to deal with. For example, the culture could be a problem. Only in fewer countries such as Vietnam, Thailand and Mexico, insects have been considered as a nutrient since ancient times. Especially, in developed nations, where cultures consider these animals insignificant and horrible. Hence, another problem could be the sensibility that people have for them. A study of last year said that only one out of ten consider bugs and caterpillars as aliments in Europe. For this reason, governments should start a campaign that could give a deeper understanding of this revolution, allowing everyone to look at this possibility with new eyes. In conclusion, introducing insects as food in our society could lead to a lot of benefits, especially for our ecosystem, however not all countries could react in the same way. One of the possibilities to achieve this new way of eating could be change, through different actions, people’s view, giving them reasons and benefits on why we should make use of edible insects.