Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Since smartphones have become a very popular device, children have been spending a lot of their time on them. On the whole, I think that this is a negative development, both for sociability, education and personal growth. It would not be a problem if smartphones were used just occasionally, for some chats or some specific research. The problem comes from spending hours on them. Regarding sociability, children tend to use smartphones to communicate with friends and tend to lose the ability to personally interact with them. The easy and fast communication by texts and messages makes kids feel like being able to easily socialize. Actually, the cold and someway protective smartphone creates a barrier that prevents them from developing effective personal relationships. Many children are quite talkative and extroverted when using a smartphone and become silent and shy in face-to-face communication. Considering education, many children spend long hours surfing the internet on their smartphones. The free access, even when regulated by parental control, extends the possible finding of harmful, and sometimes dangerous, information. While most activities for children are usually accompanied by an adult who can oversee, answer questions and explain, smartphones can be used without any supervision. The consequence may be a wrong interpretation of some news, an immature and mistaken vision of reality and facts of life. Finally, spending hours on smartphones which replace their social life prevent children from developing their knowledge of some forms of social life and art. Online videos, songs and books, along with virtual visits to museums and exhibitions, give children the sensation of virtually knowing much more things than, actually, they really do. Likewise, long hours on smartphones create laziness that is harmful to their growth and that could be spent in open-air activities or doing sports.