Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays spending a lot of time on mobile phones each day has been a habit for children. This is because of the consequences of technology development which allow us to access the devices easily. Although we have gained many benefits from this technology, I believe that this trend is a negative development, because the more screen time on children, the more negative impacts will be received. This essay will elaborate in more detail as follow. This is the case that happened nowadays since the world is connected by the internet and every day is necessary to have a smartphone to do some activities like having meet or even having classes so that children can have easy access to these devices. In fact, it was originally intended to help their activities, however,, currently the usage of smartphones is more in seeking out entertainment. For instance, the research conducted by Harvard University shows that the largest proportion of smartphone usage goes to social media activities which it was accounted for over 50 per cent of the total sample. Looking at the development of this case, the negative consequences dominate children more than the positive impacts. More screen time for children reduces their productivity because most of them are used for social media. In addition, it also has an impact on a child’s eye health because of the long period of time in mobile phone usage. For example, there was numerous case that shows pupils in schools lose their ability to focus on learning because of the distraction caused by either YouTube or Instagram apps during classes. In conclusion, it is clear that the current situation was forcing a child to use smartphone devices in the long run and it tends to lead to more negative development than positive ones.