An increasing number of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

In the last few years, the number of students who prefer to study abroad has been increasing, especially in some countries like China or India, which own a very high population, or even a country called Iran, where people suffer to live in there because of their dire economic situation. This essay will discuss how beneficial studying abroad is for students and involve countries with some drawbacks that include each side. Firstly, studying abroad requires a solid academic background. Only people who can get permission to study in another country have a high literacy level, so they constantly try to improve their majors. For example, a person who intends to immigrate will find a higher academic level than someone who studies unmotivated and can achieve more decent jobs and better income in the future. Secondly, countries that make more requests to attract foreign students accept the best students in all fields or any skill. This will cause deserving people to enter that country, settle there, find work after graduation, and contribute to the development of that country in many different sectors; which is more like if a farmer buys land in a good climate area or a dry and salty area, it is definitely more likely to produce a crop in a good climate, even if more money is spent on it. Nevertheless, studying abroad may have some bad influences on foreign students. They have to leave their families, their cultures, their friends, and also their own country, which may even involve them with depression or even cause them to get injured mentally in the middle of their studies to such an extent that they return to their own country. Hence, they just wasted their time and started from the beginning. This example is seen more in people with strong emotional attachments to their families and friends. Moreover, with the increase in the number of foreign students to study, then stay and work in the involved country, less space is created for the people of that country in terms of education and employment; this issue causes people to protest and riot in that country, which disturbs the order and safety there, for example in Iran with increasing the number of Afghan people, Iranian people that they are staling job opportunities and should return to their country. To conclude, despite the difficulties and problems that may arise for a student by studying abroad, if that student does his best, he can achieve better living conditions than before. On the other hand, good progress was made for the involved country, while it doesn’t matter whether the person who made progress is a foreigner or citizen; the progress of society helps all people.