Some people think secondary school (high school) students should study academic subjects. Others think students should study practical skills (car machines, cookery). Discussion both view and give opinion.

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of subjects. While some people believe that pupils should learn only academic lessons, I would argue that practical subjects will be more beneficial to students. I will explain my reasons in this essay. There is no doubt that high school students should study academic subjects. This is because academic lessons are significant for pupils who want to study in higher education, and they are required to have knowledge about academic subjects. For example, according to a university in Thailand, if a pupil intends to study at Chulalongkorn University they have to tests academic lessons such as Math, Science and Biology which they can show their knowledge will be accepted by the university. As a result, academic subjects will improve the knowledge of pupils who want to be successful in higher education. However, it is worth pointing out that students should learn more practical skills such as car machines, cookery and plumbing in schools. This is based on the fact that pupils can gain this knowledge and skill while they learn in the classroom, and they can use this skill in their real lives. For instance, in Australia, many colleges have subjects to teach their students about cookery skills which, can gain more knowledge and practise their skills at the restaurant in school. Consequently, students can gain work experience that can relate to their future careers. In conclusion, we can observe that secondary school students should learn academic subjects that can improve their knowledge for higher education. Overall, I firmly believe that pupils must study practical skills to gain their work experience for their future careers.