People are living in a “throw-away society”, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Nowadays people tend to use objects for a short-term period and then throw them away. It is obvious that there are root causes behind this phenomenon, and not using commodities for a long time may lead to devastating effects both on people and our environment. There are two main reasons why individuals do not use products for longer periods. The first reason is consumption. Because there are many advertisements in which the companies persuade people to buy more, many individuals buy things that they do not need and dispose of items which still can be used. A good illustration of this is that people buy more items of clothing than they really need and throw away ones that are completely new. The second reason is people have a tendency to compete with each other. That is, instead of thinking about their convenience, some people are obsessed to show that they are better than others. As a consequence, they do not use their belonging for a longer period as they think to retaining their commodities makes them less perfect in the eyes of others. However, this trend might cause severe consequences which affect not only people but also the environment. The more individuals throw away their belonging, the more their future will be in danger. In other words, buying more products will result in fewer savings, so when individuals reach their retirement, they do not have enough money to take care of themselves. Moreover, producing more waste will pose a serious danger to the environment. Take tons of waste which are buried in landfills every year as a result of consumptionism consumptions as an example; if humans continue to do this, we will put different species of animals and plants on the verge of extinction. For instance, many forests will disappear as a product of this behaviour. In conclusion, it is better to use our belonging for a longer period and not throw them away after using them a couple of times. Although many TV programmes encourage the public to buy new stuff and get rid of old ones, the community should control its desire to do so this behaviour is dangerous for sustainable life on the earth.