Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss the two views and give your own opinion.

Learning history is for descendants to know about their ancestors as well as crucial events happened in ancient time. While some looking down on the importance of learning history since the acquisition of outdated knowledge will not help people cope with modern challenges. I personally value history as one of the main school subjects due to the younger generations is able to deter from making the same mistakes as being done before. To begin with, people living in a fast-changing world nowadays, which is drastically different from the old days, many traditional principles fail to solve current issues. For example, the traditional methods of harvesting could not apply in modern days due to the impacts of extreme weather. Moreover, authorities tend to interpret history in a way benefits their own regions, which makes it inaccurate and not able to provide a whole picture. Take the historical events during world war two as an example, there is various versions of explanations in different nations, people can barely tell which party telling the truth. On the other hand, I tend to agree that history plays an important role to pass down the wisdom of ancestors, along with the lessons learned from mistakes. First of all, regardless of how fast the world is changing, the causes of conflict between nations are surprisingly the same, either for natural sources or territories. In this case, history could help leaders to predict possible safety hazards and be able to respond to the incidents in time. Secondly, young individuals are able to find their roots and be proud of their race by knowing the contributions being made in the past to foster the world they live. Take Taiwan as an example, residents are not able to have such a convenient living environment without the hard work of those who immigrated from China a hundred years ago, Taiwan would still remain an underdeveloped island. To summarise, despite advanced technologies reshaping societies in various aspects compared to the past, which makes some people question the necessity of learning history, in my perspective, I am in favour of encouraging students to learn history to know better about their roots.