Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your choice.

The conservation of wildlife has always been a topic of interest. Some argue that the time and funding allocated to this should be diverted to projects towards address the needs of the human population. While this thinking is somewhat justifiable, I would contend that it is in the interests of humankind to put more effort into protecting wild animals. It is understandable why some people think that too much time and money is spent on wildlife protection/conservation/preservation. In many countries, deteriorating infrastructure demands more time and financial investment to enhance the living standards of residents. Simultaneously, education is also one of the major issues. School construction costs are the main cause of the increase in illiteracy in rural areas. Therefore, it is imperative for governments to channel resources into improving these sectors for a better quality of life. For example, in Vietnam, a fund has been established to support and construct schools for children in remote areas. However, notwithstanding the fact that there are indeed many crucial areas for countries to pay attention to, I believe it is unwise to ignore the importance of wildlife preservation. To begin with, these creatures are indispensable in maintaining ecological balance, which directly influences the well-being of the human population. For instance, certain species promote plant development through pollination, ensuring biodiversity and sustaining life on our planet. Not only the ecosystem, wild animals also have some impacts on human life, especially in the medical field. Some species provide rare chemicals that are utilized in creating medicines capable of saving human lives. Taking snake venom as an example, it has been used in many hospitals to treat human bone. In conclusion, while the protection / conservation of wildlife animals is undeniably important, the quality of human life should not be understated. I strongly believe that the government should allocate both time and money to sectors such as infrastructure and education to elevate their citizens’ living standards.