More and more people want to buy clothes, car and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's modern era, people tend to purchase clothes, cars and other products from well-known. There are some reasons for this phenomenon. In this essay, I will highlight the causes of this issue and I personally believe that this trend is detrimental to human life. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why people want to buy famous items. The first reason is that citizens buy luxury goods in order to show off their success and status and wealth. This also would make them gain acceptance from others and reward themselves for an accomplishment. Taking youngsters for example, they tend to prove that they are more successful. The second one is that advertising creates a need for luxury goods. In fact, the marketing of well-known brands is excessively promoted regardless of consumers' lack of knowledge about shopping plans. This results in consumers tend to consider famous items as essentials. Therefore, more and more people want to own luxurious brands of items. On the other hand, I believe that this development has an adverse impact on society and the environment. Firstly, if people buy luxurious goods that they do not want really, they would struggle financially because of their bad spending habits. When financial pressure is too great, they are more likely to suffer from various mental health problems such as depression, and anxiety disorders. These people might be a burden to their families and even their society. Secondly, this trend causes environmental damage, because more facilities and factories are built to serve more customers. This can have a negative impact on the vicinity due to the carbon dioxide emissions from industry. For example, China is very successful in economic growth when residents use a huge amount of money to buy a lot of luxury goods, however, the air quality in China is alarming because many factories are built to meet the market demand. In conclusion, the consumption of famous items has been at an alarming ring due to 2 reasons mentioned above, in my opinion, this trend has a negative influence on both environment and society.