In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays people can decide on the house that they want, it could be an apartment or a landed house. Moreover, they can choose between owning or renting a house, but in some small countries, owning a house is important from their perspective as a result of the price of property rising over the years, and this is a negative situation for the government since it could be hard to govern their community to design and develop their countries. First of all, the main reason why people in this modern’s era prefer owning rather than renting a house is because they believe owning a house could be an investment and give a more privacy for them as they can make a rule of their property. Moreover, they are not ruled by anyone due to they own their properties. For example, based on my experience, when I was a student in Surabaya (an Indonesian city), I rent an apartment, but I could not make a decoration inasmuch as the owner forbade me. In addition, the owner received my money since they did investment in their apartment. On the other hand, in a small country, the government has made a law to restrict their community from buying a house with the aim of the land could be handled by the government in order to make the country comfortable to live in because the government can develop and redesign in the future. For example, Singapore has already made a rule to restrict their community to own their house and for those who are interested to buy, they have to pass the requirement made by the minister. As a result, the government can develop their country including augmenting infrastructures or transportation. To sum up, the reason why people nowadays buy their houses is because they want to do an investment and also it gives more space for them such as privacy and they are not ruled by anyone. However, in a small country, it could induce a negative situation because of land limitations.