In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is clear that earning and spending money has become a hot topic in many individual’s day-to-day lives. Generally speaking, there are many underlying reasons for this trend. I believe that this tendency has both negative and positive aspects. To begin with, one of the main reasons can be that these days a number of people increasingly use social media such as Instagram. For example they tend to show off to their friends and family through social media. This leads to them comparing their kith and kin. That means they tend to know who earns more money on the internet world. Furthermore, showing and comparing sometimes makes people feel disappointed about their current situations. It can make an individual feel down. For instance, Seeing your friends on Instagram buying houses sometimes makes you feel a bit inferior. On the other hand, I believe that trends have advantages and disadvantages. One of the advantages is that comparing yourself to your friends can sometimes serve as a source of motivation, as it pushes you to earn more money and to reach the same level of success. At the same time, of course there are disadvantages. The main one is that it easily makes people feel down when they compare their kith and kins. If you constantly feel like you are unsuccessful, it can erode your self-esteem. In conclusion, nowadays how much people earn money and comparison has become a normal topic in our lives. And we live in the tech era. So we can not avoid contracting each other on the internet world and real life. We have to be able to distinguish from right to wrong.