Some people think that music plays an important role in society. Others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Sound as a form of art is a soothing experience. For many, this form of art is considered quintessential, whereas others simply discard it as a mere tool for leisure. In this essay, each of these views will be discussed and I will give my opinion as to why I fancy the former notion. On the one hand, there are people who believe that music is an essential aspect of our society, as it can be used to reach everyone irrespective of their caste, colour, or creed. Furthermore, it is global and hence it is not affected by national borders. As a result, many songs have been used to spread important social messages. Namely, Wavin Flag by K'Naan was a song meant to depict the struggles for freedom. Similarly, Rasputin by Boney was used by its listeners as an act of defiance towards the Soviet Union. These instances and many others prove why this is considered important in society. On the other hand, other people view music as nothing more than a form of entertainment. This might be due to the fact that most of them only consider these tunes in regard to their lives and not as a whole, for the community. For many, these are just melodies which play in the background while they are performing various tasks. For instance, it is played in the background at pubs while the attendants converse with each other. For others, attending concerts in their leisurely time is a good distraction and because of this, they might just view this as simply a form of entertainment. In my view, music has had an impact on society, unlike any other art form. It is everywhere. For example, surgeons use classical tunes while operating on the patient for better focus. In conclusion, both parties may have their reasons to view music as culturally significant or just pure entertainment. However, I agree that music plays an important role in culture as its influence is unparalleled.