aN INCREASING NUMBER OF PEOPLE WANT TO BUY CLOTHES, SHOES, AND OTHER ITEMS PRODUCED BU FAMOUS INTERNATIONAL BRANDS. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

A huge number of individuals want to buy clothes, shoes and other items manufactured by globally known brands. The reason behind this phenomenon is people want to imitate movie stars and other prominent personalities. In my opinion, this is an unfavourable situation because not everyone can afford these brands thus they might feel inferior. This situation is happening because some film stars and other popular people wear these luxury items. In other words, they post pictures on social media, and their fans want to look like them, this is why, their followers also buy these items. For instance, Diljit Dosanjh wore an Adidas jacket in a show, also he specifically mentioned that his jacket cost him $5,000. Hence, many of his fans also bought the same clothing, and they posted pictures on Instagram to look cool. However, in my view, not everyone has the same wealth to buy such high-end items, and as a result, they feel inferior. In my opinion, it is an unfavourable situation since people who cannot buy high-class brands feel ashamed in front of those, who can. This is because, the cost of owning them is huge, and a middle-class person may spend his/her whole month's income to buy that one item. For example, Nike Jordan shoes cost around $3,000, and many teenagers are buying them by spending their full month's earnings. Therefore, I opine that this has a negative impact on society as individuals who cannot afford are feeling inferior. In conclusion, although some people copy their favourite film stars or celebrity, in my view, this has a negative impact on those who are unable to afford it, as a result, they feel ashamed.