Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Reading is a fundamental skill to learn many important things. Some people believe that children should focus on academic books, while others argue that reading for enjoyment is crucial for children. This essay will discuss both these statements and share some opinions. Firstly, it is noticeable that academic reading provides essential knowledge and skills to help children's development. Academic books will help young people to learn fundamental knowledge and develop cognitive skills. Especially, these books will help children promote critical thinking and prepare them for further education. For example, a child might spend time reading mathematics and can more deeply understand the subject than other children. Therefore, it is not only crucial for the young generation to read academic books, but they also should enjoy reading for their own pleasure. Secondly, there are others believing that reading books for enjoyment is equally beneficial for children. Reading for pleasure allows young people to develop creativity, stimulate imagination, and encourage their love for reading. Pleasure reading can develop a lifetime reading habit which is essential for children to expand their interests and explore difficult topics. For instance, a child who likes to read fantasy books and storytelling books will develop a deeper understanding of themselves and the world around them. While academic books might be narrowly focused on intense reading, pleasure reading can bring enjoyment and explore new stories. To conclude, in my opinion, both types of reading are valuable and beneficial in many different ways. Although academic books provide valuable information and essential fundamental skills, pleasure books offer children to explore their interests and emotionally engage their love for reading. It is clear that a combination of academic reading and pleasure reading can help young people develop a wide range of skills, expand their knowledge, and encourage them to a lifelong passion for learning.