Many people choose to travel abroad to learn foreign language insteat of studying in their hometown. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Nowadays, many individuals prefer to learn the foreign language in the country that speaks it rather than studying it in their town. This matter comes with lots of benefits, such as learning the language faster and more accurately, and also offers direct interactions with the locals. As for the disadvantages, it may lead to loneliness and culture shock. On the one hand, it is clear that there are many reasons why travelling abroad to study a language is better, and that it is because it can help with fluency and accuracy, specifically by practising it with locals, which may help with many skills. For example, if an American is planning to understand Japanese, it is better for him to move to Japan for a suitable period so he can interact with the people and improve his listening, speaking, and writing skills. On the other hand, some may need to take a long time to learn, which means being away from their home, friends, family and relatives. This can affect them in some way, and since there may be some that are not good at interacting with others or do not have good social skills, they may tend to find it hard to fit in in a new lifestyle in another continent. To conclude, this situation is definitely better if a person wants to learn so fast and grasp the language in a short period. However, it also comes with consequences such as blending in and engaging and also having to abandon your parents.