In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that many youngsters in several countries are pushed to take a gap year to travel or possess a job before entering university life. While I believe there are some drawbacks, there are also various benefits to taking this action. There are several reasons why teens opt to travel or work before starting university. In the first place, the young generation who have been taking a job for a while will have more exposure to professional life, which can be beneficial for them to excel in their ability in the near future. As a result, others will see them as credible person that can provide many solutions with specific skills. Secondly, teens who have travelled outside their country will have a broader view, which can enhance their communication proficiency with other societies. Therefore, they will be exposed to many new cultures and know more people with diverse backgrounds, resulting in more independent and knowledgeable individuals. On the other hand, there are also some negative effects of taking these options. Firstly, the young generation will become busier than ever because of their job responsibilities, which shape them to become more individualistic and have less time with their family. In extreme circumstances, they will become a workaholic person and more tempered than before. Thus, they will have limited energy to socialize with other individuals afterwards. Additionally, adolescents that are already going abroad for some time used to stay away from education opportunities. It is because they feel more comfortable living and staying for a long time in other countries and avoid continuing their studies. Hence, they will miss many huge opportunities in the future. In conclusion, I believe that every action can bring numerous positive and negative effects from taking a gap year. They can have many chances from it, but it also can endanger their future. Given this situation, it is recommended that parents have to weigh all the consequences before taking any action.