In some cultures, children are told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Many parents in some cultures tell their children that they can reach anything if they put in enough effort. While this approach of encouraging children may be beneficial it also can have some drawbacks. To begin with, Parents may use words of affirmation in an incorrect way with their children and that can have consequences. For example, a child who wants to be a doctor but does not have the academic qualifications for the job may ignore that he can be a better fit in another profession just because he believes he can reach whatever he wants. This will lead to his frustration later on and maybe even regret because he would have used his time and effort working on something that is more convenient for him. On the other hand, we should not underestimate the power of a believing parent. To illustrate, mothers and fathers who motivate their kids with this concept can actually inspire them to live up to their potential. That is because they will boost their self-confidence as well as their mental well-being. Therefore, a child who trusts his own abilities and believes in himself can grow up with the mindset that is required for his dream job. In conclusion, adults’ encouraging words can have a great influence on their kids however, they can cause detrimental effects on their lives if they use them incorrectly. In spite of the fact that many children can reach their goals with this approach of thinking, others may get their feelings crushed when the opposite happens.