Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos can help protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people hold different perspectives about the necessity of animal zoos. Some reckon that the existence of zoos is brutal to wildlife being kept in captivity. However, I disagree with this notion to a large extent as there are also considerable benefits to having zoos, and I will discuss my perspectives in this essay. On one hand, zoos can be a negative environment for the development of faunal lives. In many zoos, wild lives have no freedom to exercise their natural behaviour and are often forced to conduct performances to entertain the audience. For example, there were cases where animals were being harmed and brutally trained to perform dangerous actions on platforms for entertainment and such behaviours can be detrimental to their mental and physical health. Some animals are often under tons of stress and torture from animal trainers to reach their expectations and make revenue for the zoo. Therefore, animals in a zoo are restrained from exercising their natural behaviours and they should be freed to their habitats. On the other hand, zoos play a vitally important role in the preservation of endangered animals. Certain species of wildlife are at the edge of extinction due to human activities and predators hunting, and this is where zoos come in to protect these faunal lives from distinguishing. For instance, in China, many safari parks have implemented advanced technology to encourage reproduction among pandas and this implementation has proved to be efficacious as the number of pandas in the world is constantly rising. They provide them with all the facilities and environment for survival, including medical treatment, proper diet and safety. Consequently, zoos can bring numerous advantages to animals that a forest can not match. I personally think that safari parks are necessary to raise public awareness of wildlife protection. People can learn more about certain species of faunal life by engaging themselves in the educational activities offered by the zoo. For example, many zoos often conduct educational and meaningful programmes and lessons about the importance of the preservation of faunas to visitors. Visitors can learn from these activities and be aware of the current situation so that they can form a habit to better protect the species. Furthermore, the dissemination of certain knowledge about animals, such as their lifestyle, natural behaviour, and predators, allows visitors to expand their knowledge about a particular kind of animal. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that animals should be kept in captivity only to protect those who are in danger of extinction. Otherwise, they feel like in jail as it affects their natural behaviour. We should let them live freely in the environment.