Some people believe that the good leaders are born, whereas others hold the opinion that leadership qualities can be obtained during the life.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The importance of leadership qualities which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that great leaders are born to be a leader while others believe that good leader attributes can be learned in life. In my opinion, the latter proposition appears to be more rational because I believe that experience is the best teacher. This essay will further elaborate both views and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. One school of thought believes that some people are just naturally blessed with exceptional leadership qualities. For example, the trait theory claims that certain people are born with particular qualities which make them excel in a leadership role. Such people have ability to inspire others in a variety of ways, which includes passion, integrity, courage, sense of responsibility and creativity. As a result of these attributes they possess, they are considered to make themselves a born leader. However, second school of thought holds the opinion that leadership qualities can be acquired. Firstly, behavioral theories believe that people can become leaders through the process of teaching, learning and observation. Secondly, transformation leadership theory states that people can become good leaders by interacting with others and creating a solid relationship that results in a high percentage of trust. This will later lead to an increase of motivation, in both leaders and followers. All these theories state that no individual is born with such traits as mentioned by the trait theory. In conclusion, although many folks argue that leaders are naturally born with such leadership qualities, I am of the opinion that leadership is a set of skills that can be learned by practice, training, experience and perception.