Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The availability of food and beverages with high sugar content has raised some concern over its negative impacts on the human body. This leads to a suggestion of making such products more expensive to discourage consumers from buying them. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea. Firstly, the government should issue new regulations concerning raising the tax on sugary products on public health grounds. Numerous studies have shown that sugar can act as an addictive substance since it promotes the production of dopamine in the brain, driving the consumer to crave more. As a result, prolonged usage of products high in sugar could lead to numerous diseases such as diabetes, obesity and heart-related conditions. If the government didn’t respond to this problem, hospitals would face a larger crowd of patients who are most likely to be contracted with the aforementioned diseases. Secondly, in terms of solutions, policymakers and schools may hold the key to this looming problem. Concerning the law, applying additional taxes on sugar could encourage a substantial proportion of the population, who have weak financial status particularly, to opt for other healthier options like fruits or vegetables. Despite limited effects on affluent individuals, this action has proven to be effective in developed countries in the past. In the 70s, tobacco advertisements were present in every city in the USA, causing the number of smokers to skyrocket as well as those who were diagnosed with lung cancer. It was not until Congress passed certain laws to put more tax on the use and advertisement of such products that these numbers plummeted. Furthermore, schools can play a huge role in educating younger generations to pick up healthy-eating lifestyles that would be beneficial to their growth and overall health. I believe these two actions can be role out without any considerable difficulties while offering the authority additional money to fund the school’s health curriculum. In conclusion, the over-consumption of sugar -packed products has become a controversial issue for both parents and government alike. I am among the proponents of raising the price of these products through means of legal actions and education.