Children these days spend a lot of time apart from their parents because in many homes, both parents work. What problem can be caused by this? What are some ways to support such children?

Today’s children spend an increasing amount of time away from their parents since their mothers and fathers need to make a living. Although it is a serious problem, this can be resolved by extracurricular sessions. First of all, spending most of the youngsters’ days separately from their parents leads to a few deficiencies for the young when it comes to affection. This makes children feel lonely and totally rely on their parents when they have time together. For instance, as my parents had full- time jobs, my grandmother took care of me and my younger brother when we were young. This encouraged him to extremely count on my mother and father because he could not fully communicate with them when he needed them. However, there are some solutions to this issue. Extracurricular activities can give offspring a sense of bond with their friends instead of their parents. Rather than spending the rest of their day waiting for their mothers and fathers at home after school, learning something beneficial with peers is likely to help the youths to alleviate their loneliness. For example, I used to join after-school programs when I was in elementary school because I felt nervous and scared when I was at home with my brother while waiting for my parents. I could spend a few hours learning art or musical instruments with my friends, which mitigated my anxiety and loneliness which were caused by the lack of quality time with my parents. In conclusion, even though it is obvious that for offspring, spending less time with their parents can lead to a lack of affection. Nevertheless, this can be dealt with by extracurricular activities with their classmates.