Some students take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that the school should be immediately followed by a university and this has been seen as the normal flow of education for many years. Nevertheless, taking a gap year has become a contemporary trend nowadays, during which graduates either spend time on adventures or gain work experience. Personally, I am highly supportive of this new idea and I think that students benefit from a gap year in a number of ways. To begin with, taking a year off greatly expands one's worldview. Students visiting foreign countries or being employed can learn a vast amount of knowledge about the world, society, different cultures and the business environment during a year. For example, they can learn some practical skills in their interested fields by working for a particular company, which they would not be able to achieve at the university. Moreover, this gives them an excellent opportunity to make their final decision regarding their career path. Many graduates are unsure about their future careers when they apply for a university, and as a result, they end up picking a discipline that is not entirely relevant to their interests. If students spend a year doing internships at some company or explore various fields they may rethink their future profession and gain more confidence when applying for a university. On the contrary, some claim that those who take a break between school and university are losing a considerable amount of time to their peers. This means that while they spend time at work or on travel, their peers will be acquiring theoretical skills at the university. However, this does not necessarily mean that those who take a break are obtaining less knowledge. Sometimes, gaining work experience or a journey may be as much invaluable as university studies. For instance, individuals who have passed an internship program are known to perform better in a freshmen period than those who immediately continued their education. Furthermore, due to previous exposure to certain topics, those who took a gap year will handle some concepts in their studies more easily. In conclusion, people can learn a great deal by taking a gap year after school, expanding their knowledge horizons and gaining invaluable experience.