Some countries achieve international sports by building specialized facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

The approach of several countries to achieve greatness is to construct sports infrastructures to train elite athletes for international sports competitions instead of building sports facilities for public use. I believe this is a positive development because aspiring athletes will be more interested to pursue sports and it will encourage people to improve their physical activities. Moreover, establishing specialized state-of-the-art facilities and equipment will produce high-caliber athletes that will win numerous awards and medals for the recognition and pride of the country. This will also inspire more athletes because they no longer need to go abroad for training and be away from family and friends. For instance, Hidilyn Diaz who is a Filipina weightlifter won the first-ever Olympic gold medal for the Philippines. However, she was trained outside of the Philippines because the country does not own world-class facilities and expert coaches to be able to help her qualify for tournaments. Although the perseverance of an athlete may contribute to winning competitions, it would still require good training facilities. Additionally, the facilities and programs will not only attract athletes and sports alike but will also influence the general public to be involved in sports and physical activities. Rather than staying inside the house doing nothing, they will be more encouraged to learn another hobby and change their poor health habits. People will be able to socialize and release their stress from work. In conclusion, building specialized sports facilities is a positive impact because it will attract people to take up sports, and the public will be more interested and able to improve their hobbies.