In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is often argued that in certain countries having a house is more relevant than renting one. In my opinion, this is a negative mindset to have and owning a house should not be a top priority. First of all, I believe that the mindset of needing to own a house has to be erased. The price of housing has increased every year and it is harder for future generations to buy a house for themselves and so it is the least priority for them to think about owning a house. For instance, the younger generation prefers to invest their money in stocks rather than to buy a house because they think it will be more economically beneficial for their future and these days people also prefer to save their money for fun activities like travelling. Thus, having a house is not a prime concern for the newer generation. Secondly, renting a house is more efficient. We can see how buying a house means that we also need to pay more bills and we need to pay more attention to our money management. For example when having a house, the water, gas, and electricity bills have to be paid separately, while for house rent it usually already includes all the bills that need to be paid in one payment. That’s why renting a house will be easier to manage. To conclude, I strongly believe that owning a house is more necessary than renting a house because it is more beneficial and efficient.