The world is in a state of war. Is re-defining peace a necessity?

The impact of war and peace has been a topic of heated debate for a long time now. This is due to the fact that while it becomes important to fight the evil forces that torment society, it cannot be ignored that the most important agenda in our minds must always remain peace. Count Leo Tolstoy once wrote: “We make war to live in peace.” In my opinion, we must ensure we avoid war as long as it is possible. On the one hand, there are several reasons the world has engaged in war. To elucidate, the two world wars did not involve only those countries that wanted to fight; it involved those nations as well that fought to suppress violence and manslaughter. Additionally, war becomes necessary once in a while because without it, there could be oppression and autocracy or dictatorship, which leads to inhuman treatment of citizens. To illustrate, there are several African and Asian countries where a war is important, sometimes against the military, while at other times against the autocracy. On the other hand, no human or nation has the right to engage in violence and disrupt world peace. To elaborate, great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela and Martin Luther King have proved that there are non-violent ways of ensuring world peace. Furthermore, there are other examples of Buddha, Christ and other leaders who have shown how peace and brotherhood can be maintained through the path of forgiveness, and not revenge. In a nutshell, it is clearly evident that peace is the way for the future. In conclusion, it can be sufficiently inferred that peaceful methods will continue to win over violent ones, and it is crucial to look differently as methods of restoring peace in the world.