In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Nowadays, there have been growing trends towards buying imported food instead of domestic food. There is a multitude of explanations for this trend. This essay will discuss a few causes of this issue along with the solutions that could be adopted to solve this problem. There are two main reasons why citizens choose to buy imported food. Firstly, by considering health-relating benefits, many people believe that imported food is safer than local one. In fact, there are many regulations that apply to imported food, which make customers sure that it is safe for customers to eat. Secondly, for marketing programs to become popular in our society, foreign companies have huge budgets for advertising campaigns to attract more customers. Because effective marketing management is essential in the process of building up a favourable image for any product, which almost local products can be ineffective. Thus, local residents would be more attracted by imported food. However, some effective measures can be implemented to combat this trend. The first solution is that financial support should be given to local manufacturers from their government, so that local producers have more money to invest in advertising programs to reach more potential customers. This means that the local products would be popular in their locality. The second solution is that local industries have to improve the quality of the goods and services that they produce and offer to the market, in order to ensure safer products to the customers. For example, if citizens compare local products and foreign ones with the same quality, they will choose local ones thanks to the reasonable price. In conclusion, more and more people choose imported food instead of local one because of the poor marketing campaigns and the safety regulations of local food. Nevertheless, local products could take actions to address it.