Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Language has an important role in life. It is a way of transferring people ’s opinions, feelings, and emotions. Living in a foreign country where many languages are spoken becomes difficult for a foreigner to survive in that country without knowing the native language of that country. I strongly agree with this notion because of many reasons. Firstly, when people move abroad to pursue their educations, jobs, and permanent residency. They face a language barrier problem if they are not familiar with a language which spoken in that country. The growth in society or country will be limited for immigrants. For instance, people faced problems in getting good or desirable jobs which they want. Local companies prefer those candidates who know their local language because that becomes easier for the company and the candidate to understand the business operation and culture of the company. Students who study abroad are gown through the problem of a language barrier if they don’t understand their language. For example, a student who moved to German for higher education faced problems because in Germany many educational institutes offered many courses in the German language. So it became impossible for people to pursue their education who do not know the German language. In addition, speaking a country ’s language would help people in socializing with the local community to attend parties make new friends, and expand their social life. Local vendors are familiar only with their country ’s language. You cannot do shopping or purchase desired goods if you do not communicate with them. In conclusion, knowing a foreign language is an essential need for a person who moves abroad. It helps people to adjust to society and live a happy life.