Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that the government investing in public transport systems and reducing the prices of public transport tickets could solve environmental pollution. While the ticket price being cheaper could increase the will of the public to take public transportation frequently, I believe that there are other effective methods that can alleviate the pollution problems. It is undoubtedly that transport pollution might be reduced by the enhancement of public facilities and lowering ticket prices. For example, the government can increase more money into building a better underground system, design more bus routes and allow people to charge less for tickets, which could encourage a greater number of citizens to use commuting ways instead of driving their private vehicles. Therefore, the fewer private cars on the road the fewer carbon emissions produced. However, it can be obviously seen that there are several steps the public can take by the public to reduce the environmental issue. Firstly, the government could advocate the concept of environment-friendly to the residents, which raises their awareness about improving air quality. Secondly, the government could set up more transport facilities in the downtown area such as shared bike stops. For example, people could ride a bike after finishing their work, this not only alleviates traffic congestion but also decreases air pollution. In conclusion, although improving public infrastructures and charging less ticket prices could be an effective way to solve the environmental pollution problems, it is more effective to tackle the problems from construct the share bike stop and raise people’s awareness.