Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

Many people think that the best way to deal with all kinds of crime by applying fixed sentence. In my opinion, there are many merits of fixed punishment including, deterrence purposes, save time, and also there are some demerits such as, unfair, cost a significant amount of money. Regarding advantages, Firstly, fixed sentence can plays a key role in reduce the rate of crime. In other words, if all criminals receive the same punishment regardless of age or gender, this can make offenders think twice before trun to crime. For example, if all offenders receive prison sentence, this can discourage them to a break the law,which indicate fixed punishment can contributes to prevent crime before happened. Secondly, government not need to funding the courts. This is because, felons not need to attend the courts in order to investigation, which the governments can safe a considerable amoung of funds and spend it in crucial infrastructure such, healthcare system, education, public transport. In terms of disadvantages, To bging with, fixed punishment is consider is unfairness. To illustrate, the courts should take into consideration the circumstances of crime. For instance, it is unfair to make equal in punishments between who commit petty crime as who commit serious crime. Another disadvantages, fixed sentence can cost the authorities a lot of funds. To put in other words, If all offenders receive imprisonment punishment, this can make prison more expensive and overcrowded. To sum up, the fixed punishment have upsides including, deter felons, not require to lawmakers to support courts financially, however, the are several downsides namely, unfair, expensive.