Task 2 essay. In many countries today,crime novels and TV dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular. What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas

In modern society, there are many genres of books and television dramas to choose from, yet, many gravitate towards crime content. They are becoming increasingly popular amongst the general population. This essay will explore the possible reasons behind this, and it will explain why I personally disapprove of it. There are numerous reasons why people particularly enjoy novels or television series revolving around criminal offences. Firstly, many find them peculiar, human beings are naturally curious creatures hence they would be interested to know what makes a criminal commit unlawful acts. In addition, one tends to find it thrilling, the idea that a seemingly normal fellow human being could become a lawbreaker. For instance, a show released in 2022 about a sociopath serial killer named Jeffrey Dahmer, quickly became a series with one of the highest ratings in America within the first two weeks of its release. Understandably, this genre is very popular because it is very intriguing for one to discover the motives behind a felon’s actions. However, there is an unpleasant consequence that stems from the over-consumption of books or series that detail criminal activity. Being constantly bombarded with negativity can cause anxiety and resultant depression. For example, constantly assuming that the people around you have malicious intentions or that they may want to harm you, because you’ve seen it happen to others on television, would ultimately lead a person to develop paranoia. Mental illnesses as such could have a detrimental impact on one’s quality of life. Therefore, it is my personal opinion that the production of these types of books or documentaries should be limited because of the adverse effects they have on mental health. To conclude, this essay discussed the reasons why many enjoy the crime genre, due to it being thrilling or interesting. Nevertheless, I disapprove of it because of its negative effects on the human mind, such as anxiety and depression.