Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sports, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are arguments about the strength of physical and mental health, which one is more crucial for success in the sports field? I believe that physical strength is fundamental for success in sports. On the one hand, mental health plays a vital role in competitive sports contests. Firstly, if trainers are not able to foster a competitive spirit or even a win-at-all-costs attitude, the athletes whom they train may lack the necessary motivation of working hard and succeed. Hours spent in a gym, for example, are quite repetitive and boring, so aspiring sportspeople need to stay focused. Secondly, there will be failures in any sport, the mental strength helps to overcome them and keep practising. Some people tend to give up when they have a sense of failure, thanks to strong mental health, people can stand out of that feeling. They often remind themself to their achieve one's goals. On the other hand, physical health is the basis of success. While most people take up exercise just to get into shape or keep fit, athletes who wish to become successful must be physically strong. For instance, weightlifting, karate, or judo require strength for stamina and endurance. Some sports stars even use illegal drugs to boost their performances because they do not enough physically strong at that time. In conclusion, it seems to me that mental health is an important aspect of success in sports, but physical health is the basis of success.