Nowadays,families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.why is this happening?do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, family members are moving away from one another when compared to the past and most of society has come to terms with the given fact. The reason for the situation is the desire in everyone to have more independence from their personal family. The following essay will provide the answer to the question of why the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages. There are many advantages to the given trend. Firstly, every person will gain freedom from being monitored closely by the immediate family assembly. The aforesaid can aid them to make personal decisions without discussing or defending them with parents or spouses or own children. Secondly, with the advent of technology, people working in distant locations can stay connected via video calls and the mode of communication would give the same feel as talking to any person physically. For instance, Zoom meeting calls are increasingly popular in recent times as it has given a choice to people to choose a career in a faraway city from where their immediate family is located. Therefore, the benefit of not staying close to relatives is in keeping the personal decisions to self whereas staying in touch with family via video calls. However, there are major drawbacks to the situation. Primarily, children would lack the physical touch of parents while staying in distant school hostels and the given would apply to spouses who are maintaining distant relationships as well. For example, physical touch like sharing a shoulder to lean on or a gentle kiss on the forehead can be a great morale booster in facing the challenges of life. Additionally, if every person stops seeing their own family in reality, then the feeling of emotional, financial and social support of family would cease to exist in their mind. As a result, they would become more self-centred and would not have an outlet to share emotions and the behaviour can be very dangerous to one's physical and mental health. Thus, we can say that the drawbacks of not living with family would be losing the courage to face life problems and forgoing the luxury of venting one's emotions. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the negative effects of cons are far more severe than the mere convenience that pros provide when choosing to stay away from family participants. But the current generation is taking the nearsighted benefits and ignoring the far-sighted graver consequences. It is recommended to consider the long-term problems before making the decision to live away from family.