In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

It is true that, particularly in developed countries, the youth of today enjoy longer lives and better health, but they are not happier, despite all the material possessions that they have. I would state that there is one principal reason why they are not happier and some steps should be taken to deal with this situation. The influence of commercial advertising is at the root of the dissatisfaction of today's youngsters. Young people have become a target audience for the marketing industry, even children five years old or younger. They are swayed by advertisements to adopt the values of the consumer society, possessing more and more things, which they are told, will bring them happiness, such as toys, electronic goods, or the latest fashions. TV channels and online advertising persuade the youth to buy goods impulsively. Thus, no control of consumption has resulted in disappointing experiences through false promised advertisements. Governments could immediately address this issue. They must introduce restrictions on advertising and it would be even more effective to impose an official ban on all marketing campaigns. National and local authorities should provide social network programmes that young people have opportunities to participate actively such as sports clubs or to take up a musical instrument. This will bring them more happiness and social interaction in their lives. Moreover, youngsters will have no time to waste money shopping without forethought. These two measures would certainly bring more fulfilment and happiness into young people's lives. In conclusion, limitations on the marketing industry and opening more outdoor activities are the effective measures that governments should develop as soon as possible.