Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste coming from households is currently a major problem as many people claim that it is quite a challenge to recycle them. The government is asked to intervene in this matter because people believe that enforcing laws on waste management will make people recycle more of their waste. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to discuss why laws are needed in recycling and also will discuss any other possibilities of ways that could be applied. The waste management problem can be solved if the government manages to put trash bins into categories. To clarify this point, there should be a bin for non-recyclable waste and for recyclable waste so that it will be easier for separating the waste into the recycling process. For example, in some places, there are different colors of trash bins. Green is for recyclable waste, Yellow is for general waste that cannot be recycled, and also in some places, there is also a bin for glasses. By doing this, the government, therefore, can apply laws such as imposing a tax or fees on people who don’t follow the rule such as disposing of trash in the forbidden place not in the bin area. This will result in people being more disciplined and more responsible for their waste and also it will encourage them to recycle more. However, there is also government regulation that can be used to solve this matter. In our world today, people consume more and more energy and goods which means more waste is being produced, too much waste means more pollution. Therefore, government regulation can be useful because the government has the ability to regulate the amount of waste being discharged into the environment. For example, rivers can be contaminated because there are water bottles, plastic bags, and so on, floating in the water. To fix this, the government can start some kind of program to deal with the problem such as investing in tools or machines that can eliminate a massive amount of waste in a short period of time or asking for volunteering. This allows the recycling process to be progressing on a big scale and also makes the city cleaner. Such a campaign can encourage people to be aware of the importance of recycling because they’ve seen how it affects the environment. Another way to encourage people to recycle is to acknowledge them at a young age. Children should be taught at school about what are the benefits of recycling and what are the consequences if we don’t recycle. With this method, children are then going to encourage their parents to recycle more of their waste. In addition, not only children but adults should be taught that waste is not always useless but sometimes can be beneficial. For example, you can get money from collecting water bottles by selling them to a recycling place. In such a way, people are more likely to start recycling more. In conclusion, acknowledging to people how important recycling is, is a way that can make people recycle more. However, the intervention of the government is still required. The government should impose a tax on people who do not follow the rules because, in reality, it is indeed very difficult to attract all people to participate in recycling. By doing that, we can at least save the environment from more pollution and not make it worse than it already is.