Nowadays, people spend more and more time away from their families. Why is this? What effect will it have on themselves and their families?

In the contemporary world, it is true that more and more people do not make an effort to accompany their family, and I totally agree with it. In this essay, I will discuss my opinion with examples in the following paragraphs. First of all, several factors contribute to people spending less time with their families, and one of them is longer working hours. Owing to the change in the work pattern, many individuals not only work overnight but also be disturbed by colleagues after work, leading to the reduction of communication time with families. Take my father as an example, he is a workaholic, who works 12 hours per day and even on the weekends, while he comes home day in and day out, little time that I can see him, as a result, I am not familiar with him, kind of like a roommate. Therefore, I definitely believe that working can have an impact on family relationships. On the other hand, technological advancements such as the pop-up of mobile phones, tablets, computers and so on, can be a catalyst account for straining family time. Furthermore, the desire to use them is hard to abandon, which always overtakes other things even snubbing relatives, resulting in gaining distance from family. For instance, my 15-year-old cousin, who is addicted to online games, spends lots of time chatting with friends online instead of his parents; hence, they always have many conflicts and also feel less comprehend to each other all the time. To sum up, there are various reasons let both parents and children neglect to stay connected with each other like high-demand jobs, long time working and the addition of technology devices, and I think these factors strongly affect the whole family's well-being.