Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that universities should reduce theoretical knowledge, and instead give more practical training to their student. This essay totally agrees with that statement. I believe that students should have more exposure to practical training as the current job market, recruiters prefer employees with work experience and practical skills that will be more applicable to the pupils in the long run. In the current job market, recruiters are only looking for candidates with relative experience rather than knowledge, as they believed that with those experience, they have a better understanding relating the work issues, and they apply their skills and knowledge to the company, as the company prefers candidate that can provide results immediately. For instance, my sister got rejected by various companies despite her academic achievement because of her lack of work experience. Currently, she is working as a receptionist at a company to gain more exposure to work practicals which is totally different from her degree. With exposure to practical training, undergraduate students can apply those skills in the long run. Schools should design a course that focuses more on soft skills such as creative thinking, problem-solving, teamwork, and attention to details skill rather than theory, as those skills are hard to obtain, and it took pupils a few years just to perfect those skill. With the evolving technology, students can search theoretical knowledge on the internet easily. However, it is not the case for practical skill, as it is a soft skill where each individual needs to practice to master those skills. In conclusion, for a high percentage of the pupils, learning theoretical knowledge is less important than practical knowledge because of the current job demand and those soft skills are more applicable to them in the long run.