Billions of dollars are being wasted each year on space research. The money could be better used to improve conditions on earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Space research is annually funded by billions of dollars, whereas, some argue that money could be spend to fix situations on earth. Although, some discoveries made in space may be beneficial, I strongly agree with the aforementioned statement which claims that the enormous amount of money should be used to improve conditions of our planet. To begin with, it seems that observing space is worth its expenditure. That is because, a new observation in the galaxy may really be a solution for the most of issues which humanity has faced with. For example, in 2018, while making a detailed map of the solar system scientists at NASA discovered an asteroid which consists of approximately 45 tonnes of gold and nickel. If researchers will find out how to get that metals, it may end poverty on Earth. But the chance of success in the process of catching the asteroid is 2%. According to my perspective, the cost paid for the worthless tiny chance is colossal. Apart from this, the budget for space studies might be spent to tackle issues which have arisen around the ecology domain. For instance, nowadays, air pollution become one of the main problems of society. In order to decrease the percentage of emitted gases in the air, more land should be afforested. Furthermore, using an eco-friendly alternative types of fuel by industries also be helpful to overcome the situation. To sum up, I can understand the reasons why space needs funding on such a large scale, but I would argue that it is better to spend that budget to improve life on Earth.