Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

Nowadays children waste their time by playing with their phones and it creates certain drawbacks. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of smartphone effects on children and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of phone use are that it can improve children's thinking and also increases their vocabulary. Firstly, children usually play games on their phone and these days there are a lot of logic games that test the analytical thinking of the player by solving the game mission or riddle that lead to the improvement of kids' problem-solving skills. Secondly, it provides a lot of sources that introduce children to many new vocab, for example by reading books on the internet they can find new words and search for the meaning of the word right away with the browser. However, phone addiction also has major disadvantages like children’s full dependency on the internet and their procrastination of important activities. Becoming too addicted to smartphones can make children believe everything they heard on the internet, especially these days hoax news has spread widely. What’s more, parents are struggling to make their children do any productive activities because they choose to spend their time playing with their phones instead and so many of them are struggling to finish their homework on time, which can cause academic failure. However, proper parent supervision of their kids' phone usage can eliminate the disadvantages. To conclude, although children’s phone addiction has certain drawbacks like dependability on the internet and procrastination, it has an extremely positive impact on children’s way of thinking and provides them with new knowledge of words. I believe that the benefit of children’s phone addiction outweigh its drawbacks