MORE AND MORE PEOPLE ARE BECOMING SERIOUSLY OVERWEIGHT. SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE PRICE INCREASE OF FATTENING FOODS WILL SOLVE THIS PROBLEM. TO WHAT EXTEND DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that raising the price for fattening foods is a way to tackle the increasing number of overweight people. While this idea has some downsides, I partially agree with it Without a shadow of a doubt, imposing a higher price on fattening foods curbs the rise in obesity. Clearly, not everybody can afford expensive foodstuff, increasing the money in those unhealthy foods can greatly help people to consume it. For example, youngsters in Vietnam have a tendency to buy pizza, fried chicken to name a few because they are much cheaper compared to other food. Therefore, if this food became expensive to them, they would not be able to afford it. Hence, making the price of fast- food higher is an efficient way to reduce obesity. While the beneficial advantage of rising prices on fast food in reducing obesity is widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers. It is undeniable that increasing the price of fattening foodstuff directly affects the economy since companies majoring in this field may face financial strain and lose their market. To be specific, McDonalds’ or KFC can be cited as outstanding examples for this. Customers know these brands for their affordable and cheap prices, consequently, if they change their strategy, they may face a decrease in profit of the company. Thus, increasing fees in fast food may do more harm than good. In conclusion, while a higher cost on fast food may help address the health problems related to its consumption, it can negatively affect the economy of a nation, which is another severe problem.