Some people believe that individuals should be allowed to own a gun as a means to protect themselves and their families. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is thought that individuals should possess firearms to ensure the safety of their families and themselves. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because possession of weapons increases risks and accidents in communities along with difficulty in regulating them. On the one hand, possessing guns for protecting family members or themselves is unreasonable due to these weapons raise risk rates in some situations. For example, children are very curious and the likelihood of shooting accidents if their parents have not hidden the gun carefully. Additionally, these guns might be used by irresponsible people and use them even in unimportant situations such as high school in Serbia one of the students used his father’s gun and shot ten of his classmates and two teachers because they old argued with with him. Hence, nowadays every country has a police and authorities to protect citizens no need to have a gun to ensure security. Another reason if everyone has a gun that means the government is incapable of regulating these weapons. Guns have serial numbers and authorities must have this information, but when everyone has the right to have one. It will be difficult to collect all these numbers and even some will possess a gun without a license. For instance, some murder crimes-related guns are unsolved because it is difficult to know without the information the weapon used. However, possession a guns encourages violence and crime in our society. In conclusion, although guns provide security and safety for individuals or their families, I would argue that weapons increase the risks and accidents which are more hazardous to society. Additionally, there are difficulties in regulating them by the government which likely raises crime in many countries.