Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmental auhorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensible and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, some people believe that scientific study needs to be led by the state. In this essay, I will explain why this is important and the advantages overshadow the drawbacks with some reasons. On the one hand, some people consider that the analysis does not need attention or degree from the authority because they can be free and independent to define their scope. In addition, after finish, they can give that result to the department for information. For instance, many private universities did some kind of this investigation. But unfortunately, the related ministry does not their proposal for a reason because they are not permitted to do that (without a letter of permission). Hence, it means that what they have done is useless. On the other hand, the ministry can monitor the researcher's activity and also give support for them such as data, and funds. It is necessary because sometimes, they have difficulty with this problem. To illustrate this condition, I will take Indonesia as an example. In this country, lecturers as researchers especially from universities can propose their exploration and will be voted as recipients of the money. Besides that, they will be given a letter as proof to collect data easily. In addition, if the analysis succeeds, they can get a reward like a promotion in the institution. Indeed, they must think about topics that can be beneficial for the government in order to make it better (services and improvement). In conclusion, I believe that the authority should take part in every inquiry because it can make it legal and give sources for helping researchers.