some say you should always marry for love; others say that in an uncertain world it's wiser to marry for money. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

It is argued that it is more sensible to marry for love, while others may claim that it is wiser to base a marriage on the prospect of financial security. The following essay will discuss both these views, and it will agree that it is better to choose a partner based on emotional bonds. Marrying a person with whom one has a strong emotional connection, is arguably one of the best decisions one could make. Having a partner who is loving and understanding would enable one to live a fulfilling life. In addition, basing a relationship on intimacy builds a strong marital foundation that withstands the turbulence of life. For instance, a survey regarding marriage and health revealed that 50% of couples who have been together for over two decades claim that the key to long-term commitment is a loving, supportive spouse. Undoubtedly, I support the sentiment that one should choose a significant other on the grounds of emotional compatibility However, opponents may argue that it is safer to settle down for monetary gains. Having a well-off spouse may secure a lavish lifestyle for an individual. After all, the cost of living is on a rapid increase thus leading a person to want a partner who could remedy their financial predicament. For example, a recent statistic on married couples claims that more women are now seeking older husbands as they believe their spouse could provide an affluent lifestyle for them. However, I do not agree with this. Should there be a sudden decrease in the provider’s funds, one might find themselves in an emotionally unfulfilling relationship. In conclusion, some may base their choice of a companion on the merits of their emotional compatibility as this guarantees a well-supported partnership, while others may want a well-off partner in order to live a secure lifestyle. I believe that it is wiser to have a loving partner and work on monetary goals together.